Book Recommendations 2016

2017 is just around the corner and I recently realized the amount of books I’ve read this whole year. Although there were some novels that disappointed me, most of these books are a must-read, in my opinion. Here I gathered all the books that I loved this year and hopefully, you’ll like reading them as much as I did.

Disclaimer* Although there will be a mixture of themes and genres, most of the novels and series will be contemporary/romance-based because this year, I decided to start reading more real-life stories.

•The Selection Series by Keira Cass: This series is something that every girl should read! It is a romance, dystopian novel that contains political intrigues. “For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.”

•American Girls by Alison Umminger: This is a bittersweet and honest young adult novel that shows truths about American girldom. If you love contemporary, real life novels, you should definitely check out this one! Although it’s not very well-known and it’s not my absolute favourite, I would definitely say it’s on my top ten favourites. “Anna is a fifteen-year-old girl slouching toward adulthood, and she’s had it with her life at home. So Anna “borrows” her stepmom’s credit card and runs away to Los Angeles, where her half-sister takes her in. But LA isn’t quite the glamorous escape Anna had imagined.”

 

•Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard: I know I said that I loved every single book, but I promise you that this book/series is definitely my favourite fantasy/romance book I’ve read this year. I would say that Red Queen is somewhat like The Selection series, but it mostly focuses on the magic, whereas The Selection is a romance-based series. “This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.”

•Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: Although I read this book a few years ago, I still decided to include it in my list because I feel like not a lot of people read it. This is also a real life contemporary novel, but if you don’t like books that keep you wondering, this book isn’t something that I would read if I were you. I personally love books that foreshadow events so I definitely recommend this book to others! “Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker—his classmate and crush—who committed suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life.”

•To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before series by Jenny Han: Okay. I know the title reveals a lot about the book. But again, this is one of my favourite teen romance books of all time. I really can’t explain my emotions while reading it and after I finished the first book, it was all I could think about. The days without knowing what happened in the second book were a nightmare. It was simply so good I could not wait one moment to read the second novel. Again, if you’re not a huge fan of romance, this book might not be right for you, but if you are, I’m telling you right now that you should read this series! “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.”

•The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han: If you couldn’t tell already, I’m a huge fan of the author Jenny Han and decided to include two of her series in my list. This series is again, a light, fun, contemporary themed series, so if you love reading books that just make you smile, you should definitely read this one! “Some summers are just destined to be pretty. Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.”

•The Mortal Instruments: I’m sure all lot of people have already read this or seen the movie, but I decided to include it anyways. It’s a teen fantasy and paranormal romance series which is somewhat like Twilight. “When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?”

•Matched Series by Allie Condie: I know this series was published a while back, I just finished the last book this year and loved the series. This is again, a young adult distopian romance series which is one of my all time favourites. “In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die. Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one…until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.”

Now, that’s it! I’m sorry if this list was a little long, it’s okay if you just scrolled through. But again, I hope you found a new book/series to read over the break! I would love to hear what you guys thought on these books and your opinions! Happy Holiday Reading!

Toodles!

-Adela♡

Leave a Reply

