Skiing Or Snowboarding?

It’s officially Winter Break!! I really can’t believe how fast the time has gone but most importantly, there’s no more school for two and a half weeks! So I know a lot of people are planning on going skiing or snowboarding this year, since there is a lot of fresh snow this Winter where I live so I decided to share my opinions and hopefully help you decide on which one you should go for!

So which snow sport should you go for? Which one is easier? “Skiing is easier to learn but harder to master- whereas snowboarding is harder to learn but easier to master.” This is something a lot of people tend to say and it’s actually generally true. I am personally a better skier than snowboarder because first off, I started skiing way earlier than snowboarding, which I only started to learn last year.

I would say that skiing is more intuitive and easy to pick up for beginners because you get a hang of the balance quickly since you’re standing on two feet and your legs remain separated so you can throw one leg out if you’re starting to fall. Also, skiing is done with your body facing downhill so you have a full view of where you’re going. But then again, with my personal experiences, it took me a few years to learn how to ski parallel and to be honest, I’m still improving and mastering skiing.

As for snowboarding, it is a little tricky for beginners to get used to the attachment of your feet on the board, which sometimes allows you to fall a few times. Once you learned the basics of making a turn- turning your hips, shoulders, feet, and ankles to turn the board, you should find that it gets easier and easier and you’ll be improving faster than skiing.

So in my opinion, I usually recommend people to start off with skiing, and once you’ve mastered it, you can switch to snowboarding(if you like) because once you’ve skied for a while, you’re most likely already used to the snow and sense of direction so snowboarding would probably be somewhat easier to learn than simply starting with snowboarding.

This is all my own opinions and experiences but if you have a different recommendation, you can let me know in the comments. I would love to hear what you think about this topic and also, which sport are you better at and which one do you prefer?

Toodles!

-Adela♡

Leave a Reply

